European Othello Championships

European Grand Prix history

The European Grand Prix (EGP) is a circuit consisting of the major European tournaments; the winner is determined by adding the number of EGP points scored in the player's  tournaments.
EGP tournaments are held over 2 days. Traditionally on a Saturday and Sunday.  7 Rounds on the first day and 4 on the second. A best of three final and a one game 3rd/4th Playoff on the afternoon of the second day.
The EGP began in 1986 with four tournaments in Italy (Milan), United Kingdom (Cambridge), Denmark (Copenhagen) and France (Paris). Belgium (Brussels) was added in 1991 and as of 2002 several other countries joined (The Netherlands, Sweden, Poland, Spain, Czech Republic, Germany, Norway, Greece, Russia and Finland). These 15 hosting countries now organize a tournament every other two year.

Points are awarded for the following places in any EGP tournament: 1st 200; 2nd 140; 3rd 90; 4th 60; 5th 40; 6th 30; 7th 20; 8th 15; 9th 10; 10th 5. Ties for placings fifth and below are not resolved and all tied players are awarded points equal to the total points awarded for the tied players divided by the number of players. A player's points total consists of his or her best 4 scoring tournaments. 
Remark: In the first 2 seasons (1986 and 1987) the points system was slightly different. Only the best 6 received points. The points awarded were: 1st 90; 2nd 60; 3rd 40; 4th 30; 5th 20; 6th 10. The tie resolving system was the same.


European Champion


1986 Imre Leader Great Britain
1987 Peter Bhagat Great Britain
1988 Imre Leader Great Britain
1989 Karsten Feldborg & Takeshi Murakami Denmark & Japan
1990 Peter Bhagat Great Britain
1991 Imre Leader Great Britain
1992 Graham Brightwell Great Britain
1993 Marc Tastet France
1994 Marc Tastet France
1995 Marc Tastet France
1996 David Shaman USA
1997 Marc Tastet France
1998 Emmanuel Caspard France
1999 Emmanuel Caspard France
2000 Stéphane Nicolet France
2001 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2002 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2003 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2004 Andreas Hohne Germany
2005 Graham Brightwell Great Britain
2006 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2007 Imre Leader Great Britain
2008 Michele Borassi Italy
2009 Milosz Cupial Poland
2010 Imre Leader Great Britain
2011 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2012 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2013 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2014 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2015 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2016 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2017 Takuji Kashiwabara France
2018 Matthias Berg Germany
2019 Takuji Kashiwabara France